Wednesday, 24th April 2024

Just another WordPress site



Shin Sang-hoon won the final event of the 2023 season on the Korean Professional Golf Association (KPGA) Korean Tour. Shin shot a 4-under 69 with five birdies and three bogeys on the final day of the KPGA Korean Tour’s LG Signature Players Championship ($1.3 billion in prize money) at Seowon Valley Country Club (par-71, 7,000 yards) in Paju, Gyeonggi Province, on Wednesday. With a final total of 8-under-par 276, Shin won the championship by 26,423,384 won after a playoff with Jeon Sung-hyun and Lee Jae-kyung. Lee Jae-kyung was the first to go in the first extra round on the 18th hole (par-4), and Shin sank a 3-meter birdie putt in the third to end the tournament .This is the second career victory for Shin, who also won the KPGA Championship in June last year.

Shin, born in 1998, was happy to win his last tournament before he enlisted in the Korean Army in early December. “I confirmed my enlistment about a month ago, and I think I got a good result because I played with the idea that this is the beginning, not the end,” he said in a post-match TV interview, adding, “I will come back and show you a new face after I finish my military service.” Jeon, who was trying to win his first career title, had to settle for second place after his 3.3-meter birdie putt on the third extension went wide right. His runner-up finish at the Bizplay E-News Open in September last year was his second in the KPGA Korean Tour 2023 season, which concluded with this event.

Finishing tied for fourth with a final total of 7-under-par 277, the winner of the Genesis Grand Prize will receive a bonus prize of 100 million won, a Genesis car, five years of tour seeding, direct entry into the final round of the PGA Tour Qualifying School, and one year of DP World Tour seeding. The top prize was won by Park Sang-hyun. Park collected 782.17 million won for the season, surpassing Han Seung-soo’s 745.9 million won. However, he failed to surpass the KPGA Korean Tour season earnings record of 790.13 million won set by Kim Young-soo last year .The Rookie of the Year award was already decided before the tournament .Born in 1986, Park became the 바카라사이트 oldest rookie in KPGA Korean Tour history to win the award (37 years, 5 months).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *