Thursday, 22nd February 2024

Just another WordPress site


‘Pitching trifecta’ Pedi named 2023 KBO regular season MVP…

After dominating on the mound in the 2023 Korean Baseball Organization (KBO), Eric Pedroia (NC Dinos) was honored at an awards ceremony.

Peddie received the regular season Most Valuable Player (MVP) trophy at the 2023 Shinhan Bank SOL KBO Awards Ceremony held at the Westin Chosun Hotel in Jung-gu, Seoul on Sunday.

This year’s regular season individual winners and a total of 16 players selected by the Korea Baseball Writers Association were nominated for the MVP award, which was voted on by journalists after the regular season ended.

The ballot box, which was kept sealed by the KBO, was opened on Nov. 27.

In the end, Pedi received 102 of the 111 valid votes cast to take home the MVP honor, beating out Noh Si-hwan (Hanwha Eagles) by six votes. Pedi received 91.9% of the vote.

With a fastball that averaged 150 kilometers per hour and a sharp sweeper, Pedi went 20-6 with a 2.00 ERA and 209 strikeouts in 30 regular-season games this season.

By leading the league in wins, ERA, and strikeouts, Pedi became the fourth pitcher in history to achieve the Triple Crown, joining Sun Dong-yeol of the Haetae Tigers (1986, 1989, 1990, 1991), Ryu Hyun-jin of the Hanwha Eagles (2006), and Yoon Seok-min of the KIA Tigers (2011).

Pedi also achieved the 20-win, 200-strikeout mark, which has only been accomplished by legendary pitchers such as Jang Myung-bu of the Sammi Superstars in 1983 (30 wins and 220 strikeouts), the late Choi Dong-won of the Lotte Giants in 1984 (27 wins and 223 strikeouts), Kim Si-jin of the Samsung Lions in 1985 (25 wins and 201 strikeouts), and Sun Dong-yeol of Hae-tae in 1986 (24 wins and 214 strikeouts).

Pedi was also the winner of the KBO’s new Defensive Pitcher of the Year award.

After NC failed to advance to the Korean Series, Pedi left for the United States on the 8th and returned on the 26th to participate in the awards ceremony.

On Nov. 27, Pedi took home five trophies, including the MVP, individual title, and defense award, as well as 21 million won in prize money (10 million won for the MVP, 9 million won for the three individual titles, and 2 million won for the defense award).

“I was honored to receive such a prestigious award for playing in the NC. I’m grateful to everyone at the club, including head coach Kang Myung-ho, coach Kim Soo-kyung, the data team, and the training team.” “The fans in Changwon also helped me a lot. Changwon is a second home to me.”

This is the second time in eight years and the second time in franchise history that NC, which broke into the first team in 2013, has had a regular-season MVP, following Eric Thames in 2015.

Pedi is the first NC pitcher to win regular season MVP honors.

Moon “Young-gun” Dong-ju (Hanwha) was named the Most Valuable Rookie.

Moon received 85 first-place votes, beating out Yoon Young-chul (KIA Tigers), who received 15.

Moon, who joined the team in 2022, pitched just 28⅔ innings for the first team last year, making him eligible for Rookie of the Year honors.

The KBO considers players who have been in the league for five years or less, have accumulated 30 innings pitched and no more than 60 at-bats to be eligible for Rookie of the Year honors.

Moon pitched well in 23 games this year, going 8-8 with a 3.72 ERA, and received the most support in the Rookie of the Year voting.

Hanwha hasn’t had a rookie champion in 17 years since Ryu Hyun-jin in 2006.

The KBO also handed out two individual awards for offense and one for defense.

Noh Si-hwan won two trophies for leading the league in home runs (31) and RBIs (101), making up for his second-place finish in the MVP voting.

Son As-seop (NC) led the league in batting average (.339) and hits (187), while Hong Chang-ki (LG Twins) topped the league in runs scored (109) and slugging percentage (.444).

Jung Soo-bin (Doosan Bears) won for stolen bases (39) and Choi Jung (SSG Landers) for on-base percentage (.548).

In the pitching category, where Pedi swept three of the six categories, William Cuevas (KT WIZ) took first place in winning percentage (1.000), Seo Jin-yong (SSG) in saves (42), and Park Young-hyun (KT) in holds (32), earning $3 million each.

The individual prize for the Futures (2nd Division) League is KRW 1 million.

The KBO Umpire Award (3 million won) went to umpire Park Geun-young.

The winners of the inaugural Defense Award received 2 million won each.

This year’s defensive award winners are pitcher Pedi, catcher Yang Yang-ji (Doosan), first baseman Park Byung-ho (KT), second baseman Kim Hye-sung (Kiwoom), third baseman Heo Kyung-min (Doosan), shortstops Oh Ji-hwan (LG) and Park Chan-ho (KIA), left fielder Guillermo Heredia (SSG), center fielder Park Hae-min, and right fielder Hong Chang-ki (LG). 토토사이트

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.